A change is as good as a break

Autumn weather has hit us with a vengeance for the last couple of weeks.  Not the good kind: bright mornings, with the sun enhancing the golden colours of the trees; the other kind: grey skies, and rain, lots of rain.

But for the first time in an age yesterday, the skies cleared and the sun shone.  This coincided with me being able to work from home.  My work, although I enjoy it had been feeling like a big burden and not something that I want to spring out of bed in the morning for.  But yesterday was different.  I attacked my to do list and was well ahead of schedule by lunchtime.

And that’s when I had my great idea to shake the day up further.  I put on my running shoes and stepped out the door, giving myself permission to break my routine, when I “should” have waited till the end of the day.  As I bounced back in the door the best part of an hour later I was ready to crack on with the afternoon.

And this morning, I’m ready to go again.  I’m not sure if this is due to a change in scenery – my home office, rather than my work office; the sun or forcing a change in routine.  Whatever it was it worked a treat and reminded me that you’ve got to make changes to keep going – a bit like the Red Queen in Alice in Wonderland who needs to keep running to stand still.  It may seem like a lot of effort, and you could choose to stand still, believe me I’m a big fan of routines, knowing what I’m going to do when, but once in a while, you have to look back and see how you feel.

Change just one thing, a small thing and see if it brings a smile to your face – just so you can say you did something different.

About seallikeactivity

Breaking out of the 9 to 5 to be my own creative self and inspire others to do the same.
This entry was posted in change, Fitness, motivation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

