Ready for anything

“Why am I here?” is a question a lot of people were asking.  Not so much in the philosophical sense, but more in a practical sense.  It was not long after 8am on a January morning.  There was still snow on the ground, it was around 2 degrees (centigrade) and yet around 250 people were gathered on the top of a hill.  Welcome to the world of running.

What’s interesting is that nobody forced anybody into being there (I hope), so why were we there, with varying degrees of wishing we weren’t?  I can’t answer for everyone, but for me I was challenged into it.  This happens fairly often for me and it doesn’t take much.  One of my friends mentioned that the run was on, I said I might think about doing it.  I then listed all the excuses why not.  They seemed a little pathetic.  And as I knew I had to run that day anyway (result of another challenge) I realised that deep down there were no excuses.

It was my first race in over a year.  I hadn’t been training for it.  It would be hard – there are hills and it was snowy, icy and worst of all muddy underfoot.  I was no-way ready for this.

But are you ever ready for anything?  You can always do more practice, have more time, tweak a bit here and there.  Sometimes you have to put yourself out there and see what happens.

For me, I was slower than I thought I should be, the hills were harder than I thought they should be and I was exhausted for the rest of the day.  But also the views were beautiful, I finished, I gritted my teeth to run through the mud, and it’s spurred me on to keep training.

And what does this mean if you don’t run?

–          You’re more ready than you think you are.  Solid preparation and an eye on your ultimate goal will give you a good start.

–          Find the positives.  Learn from everything, and celebrate the good things – they’ll always be there

–          Get out and do it.  Baby steps with realistic expectation will do more for your confidence than sitting at home and planning.Image

I ran the January G3 – organised by All About Triathlons.

About seallikeactivity

Breaking out of the 9 to 5 to be my own creative self and inspire others to do the same.
This entry was posted in change, Fitness, motivation, UK and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

